Go Back   Lightwave Community at SimplyLightwave > Your Work > W.I.P
Register FAQ Members List Calendar

Old 09-09-2003, 10:18 PM   #1
Pheminyne
Registered Member

Default my first model

total and complete noob here. my very first model. what do you think?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg creature001.jpg (47.6 KB, 177 views)
Old 09-09-2003, 10:38 PM   #2
Mark
Super Moderator

Kinda cute - and not too shabby for a first outing. (Certainly better than my first efforts)...
Mark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2003, 11:35 PM   #3
Pheminyne
Registered Member

thanks mark!! why is it so blocky? i know, a silly noob question, but there is still so much i don't know! thanks in advance!
Old 10-09-2003, 12:58 AM   #4
sod
Full Access Member

Give the blocky surface "smoothing".
sod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2003, 07:06 AM   #5
Fallenswordsman

yep - he is a cutie isn't he - I think he might do with some reworking on the flippers just so he doesn't look like he's balanced all crab-like on them. And as Sod says, just add smoothing to him to unblocky-ise him. This can be accessed when you're assigning surfaces - there's a little tick box at the bottom which says "smoothing" or something like that - turn that on and you're away!
Fallenswordsman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2003, 12:08 AM   #6
Pheminyne
Registered Member

hahaha thanks guys, i knew about that but forgot it!! i thought it'd be easier to animate (when i learn that sort of thing) if i left the flippers straight for now, right or no? here he is smoothed out
Attached Images
File Type: jpg creature002.jpg (46.5 KB, 119 views)
Old 14-09-2003, 03:59 PM   #7
Pheminyne
Registered Member

Default question too dumb to post

fixed and deleted, thanks anyway!

so will it be easier to animate with the flippers straight or should i put them in a more natural position for now?

Last edited by Pheminyne; 14-09-2003 at 04:10 PM.
Pheminyne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-09-2003, 06:45 AM   #8