Go Back   Lightwave Community at SimplyLightwave > Categories > Animation
Register FAQ Members List Calendar

Old 19-10-2006, 02:01 AM   #1
compugeek63
Registered Member

Default Help with star field and spaceship animation

I need help with star field and spaceship animation on some Star trek ships. I'm using lightwave 9.0 and it gives me problems combining the star fields with my ship scenes. Mainly,,I load up the star scene and the ships disappear,,if I load the ships first,,its the same thing.
On the starships,I want to make the beacon light blink and the warp bussards in front glow and appear to be turning. A picture is included. Any help would be appreciated as I am still learning these things
Lee

compugeek63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-10-2006, 12:51 PM   #2
admiralbcd
Full Access Member

the models do not dissappear, but the stars object is so big that you don't see your model anymore.
press 'd' to get your display panel and reset the grid options to about 10 meters or so, if you still don't see your ship move the camera around a little ( or reset it first ).
then you should find your model. If you don't, check the size of your model in modeler, if it's true size, then it should be a few hundred meters I guess, so adjust the grid to that....

a blinking light : you have to make an envelope in your surface options panel for the light surface, in luminosity.
basically, make a key for maybe 100% and 0% and then set it to loop ( I dunno by head where this button is,sorry, look around a bit )
to add glow to your light, in surface options, advanced tab you'll find a button 'glow effect', check this on.
to set the glow however you have to go to the image processing tab ( F7 or something ?, click enable glow and set radius and intensity ).

! this is only for a light object surface, it won't spread light !
For this you have to add a pointlight and make an envelope in similar matter ( with same keyframes offcourse ).