Go Back   Lightwave Community at SimplyLightwave > Lounges > Site Questions & Suggestions
Register FAQ Members List Calendar

Old 22-11-2007, 12:10 AM   #1
DS613
Registered Member

Default Fishy tute

I am new to simplyLightwave, I am concidering the Fishy Tute. the whole thing ( part one and Part two ) seems a littly pricy when you concider the price for similar DVD's (6-10 hours of tutes 45-50$) at Kurv Studios or Gnomon. (us dollars)

Can anyone give me some feedback on the fishy tutes? I have found a few older forum entries and they all seem to talk about stuff missing. any information would be appreciated.

Cheers,
DS613 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-2007, 08:11 AM   #2
Fallenswordsman

Maybe wait until the annual points price reduction at Xmas/New Year? I can't really comment on other tutorial vendors although I found once factoring in shipping from Gnomon, the dvds tended to turn out to be extremely pricey for anyone outside the US.

Here's my fishy thread which should at least give you an idea about what you're getting:
http://forum.simplylightwave.com/sho...&threadid=5134
But do remember it is an oldish tutorial. To be honest, I can't really see a similar tute at Kurv focusing on character modelling and basic rigging although there are a couple of books that do cover the subject admirably...depends on what you're looking for and what you want to learn.
Fallenswordsman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-2007, 08:26 AM   #3
esarantopoulos
Full Access Member

In my experience I find that David Mitchell is a great tutor and easy to understand. This tutorial has been given by Philip and unless you know a bit of LW you might have a bit of trouble following up, nevertheless it's a nice tutorial which you can not find it around that easily. I personally get one at a time and see if like what I hear or see, simple.

Good luck
esarantopoulos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-2007, 04:34 PM   #4
Ave
Registered Member